Commit to Sit: Sense Doors

Commit to Sit: Tricycle's 28-day meditation challenge
IntroductionWorking with Aversion
The Five Precepts Working with Metta
Week 1: The Breath Working with Sense Doors
Week 2: The Body Seated Meditation Tips
Week 3: Emotions & Hindrances Working with Hindrances
Week 4: Thoughts Meditation Supplies
Supplementary Material 7 Simple Exercises

According to classical Buddhist teachings, we experience the world through six “sense doors,” or perceptual gateways. They are:

  • seeing
  • hearing
  • smelling
  • tasting
  • touching
  • mind

The door of mind refers to our thoughts, emotions, and mental images. The Buddha taught that these six modes of perception define the totality of our experience—in other words, every moment of our lives involves experiences that are known by way of one of these sense doors. Further, the Buddha said that each experience received in this way is colored by a feeling tone, which is either pleasant, unpleasant, or neutral.

Understanding our experience in these terms reveals the importance of bringing mindfulness to every moment of our existence. Without it, we become mere creatures of mental conditioning, constantly trying to manipulate our experience so as to increase our pleasure and minimize our pain.

Adapted from Insight Meditation: A Step-by-Step Course on How to Meditate with Sharon Salzberg and Joseph Goldstein, an interactive learning program from Sounds True.

Share with a Friend

Email to a Friend

Already a member? Log in to share this content.

You must be a Tricycle Community member to use this feature.

1. Join as a Basic Member

Signing up to Tricycle newsletters will enroll you as a free Tricycle Basic Member.You can opt out of our emails at any time from your account screen.

2. Enter Your Message Details

Enter multiple email addresses on separate lines or separate them with commas.
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.