December 09, 2008

Right Livelihood Award laureates announced; Amy Goodman among them

livelhoodThe Nobel Prize, for all the much-deserved attention it draws to innovative and important people (HH The Dalai Lama among them), has attracted criticism for its selection process—individuals are chosen by predetermined panels, ruling out less-famous potential candidates.

In 1980, Jakob von Uexkull founded the Right Livelihood Award, which has come to be known as the "Alternative Nobel Prize." Unlike the Nobel, the award accepts nominations from anybody. This year's recipients were just announced, and Amy Goodman of Democracy Now! is one of them. She interviewed two of the other three recipients on yesterday's show.

Check out the Right Livelihood website to read more about Goodman and the other three laureates.

Share with a Friend

Email to a Friend

Already a member? Log in to share this content.

You must be a Tricycle Community member to use this feature.

1. Join as a Basic Member

Signing up to Tricycle newsletters will enroll you as a free Tricycle Basic Member.You can opt out of our emails at any time from your account screen.

2. Enter Your Message Details

Enter multiple email addresses on separate lines or separate them with commas.
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.