June 07, 2012

Himalayan Buddhist Art 101: Protector Deities - Mahakala & Shri Devi

Jeff Watt

Buddhist practice and Buddhist art have been inseparable in the Himalayas ever since Buddhism arrived to the region in the eighth century. But for the casual observer it can be difficult to make sense of the complex iconography. Not to worry—Himalayan art scholar Jeff Watt is here to help. In this "Himalayan Buddhist Art 101" series, Jeff is making sense of this rich artistic tradition by presenting weekly images from the Himalayan Art Resources archives and explaining their roles in the Buddhist tradition. Two weeks ago we explored Meditational Deities, and this week we will move the discussion onward to Protector Deities.

This week Jeff explores two images found in the newest Tricycle Gallery, "Wrathful Deities." Visit the gallery and send images to your friends.

Himalayan Buddhist Art 101: Protector Deities - Mahakala & Shri Devi

There are two types of Protector Deity: worldly and beyond worldly. The latter is typically called a wisdom or enlightened protector, meaning that they are beyond samsara or worldly existence. All of the principal protectors in Tibetan Buddhism are wisdom deities and tied to specific systems or cycles of Tantric practice. Over time these wisdom protectors became more popular and were no longer tied exclusively to the Tantric cycle they originally derived from. This means that meditations on different protectors could be practiced individually, outside of a larger system or cycle of practice, or could be practiced in conjunction with formerly unrelated practices.

The protector deity Mahakala is the most important in hierarchy standing. In general Mahakala is a wrathful form of the primordial Buddha Vajradhara. In various other forms Mahakala can be an emanation of Akshobhya Buddha or any number of other Buddhas. The three main Anuttarayoga Tantra deities—Hevajra, Chakrasamvara, and Guhyasamaja—each have a specific Mahakala associated with their particular Tantra. For instance, Panjara Mahakala is paired with the Panjarnata Tantra (Hevajra), Chaturmukha Mahakala with the Guhyasamaja Tantra, and Chaturbhuja Mahakala with various Chakrasamvara Tantras. Another popular form of Mahakala, known as Shadbhuja (six-armed), is an emanation of the meditational deity Avalokiteshvara. The image depicted here is of Panjara Mahakala with the meditational deity Hevajra placed directly above. This form of Mahakala has one face and two hands standing in a slightly squat posture.

Shri Devi is the female equivalent to Mahakala and belongs to her own category of Tantric Buddhist protector deities. Like Mahakala, there are dozens of different variations and forms of Shri Devi. She is not one entity or personality. Depending on the form of Shri Devi she could be a wrathful emanation of a number of different figures. For example, Shri Devi Magzor Gyalmo is the wrathful form of Sarasvati. Other forms of Shri Devi, such as Dudusolma (depicted with four arms), are the wrathful emanation of Shri Lakshmi (Pal Lhamo). In this context Sarasvati and Shri Lakshmi are enlightened deities—not to be confused with the Indian worldly goddesses.

Shri Devi is typically in wrathful appearance following the Indian model of a Rakshasi demon. Most forms of Shri Devi ride atop either a donkey or a mule—unlike their Mahakala counterpart who is generally standing or seated. The image of Shri Devi Magzor Gyalmo depicted here is a typical of this class of deity. She is wrathful in appearance with one face and two hands, black in color, and slightly emaciated. Mahakala and Shri Devi are the two most important protectors in Tantric hierarchy and the two that appear most frequently in Himalayan art.

Suggested Links
Panjarnata Mahkala (Shelley & Donald Rubin Collection)

Shri Devi Magzor Gyalmo (Shelley & Donald Rubin Collection)

Protector Deities Main Page

Share with a Friend

Email to a Friend

Already a member? Log in to share this content.

You must be a Tricycle Community member to use this feature.

1. Join as a Basic Member

Signing up to Tricycle newsletters will enroll you as a free Tricycle Basic Member.You can opt out of our emails at any time from your account screen.

2. Enter Your Message Details

Enter multiple email addresses on separate lines or separate them with commas.
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Jeff Watt's picture

Shri Devi became popular with the New Schools of Tibetan Buddhism beginning in the 11th century - principally with the Sakya and Marpa Kagyu Traditions. At this time there were only a few forms, two or three, originating from Indian Sanskrit texts. Later, new forms were developed primarily in the Nyingma Tradition of Tibetan Buddhism. So, these new forms of Shri Devi belong to the Nyingma 'revealed treasure' lineages. Some teachers say there are twenty-one forms in total but this is clearly a later enumeration which also curiously includes the Bon protector deity Sipai Gyalmo (although similar to Shri Devi in appearance and function).

Emma Varvaloucas's picture

Hi Jeff, thanks for your posts. I have a quick question about Shri Devi. You wrote, "Like Mahakala, there are dozens of different variations and forms of Shri Devi. She is not one entity or personality." Why are all of these different variations and forms all called Shri Devi? What's the common thread among all of them?

Dominic Gomez's picture

According to Buddhism the common thread is life itself. Life manifests in an infinite variety of ways and means.